≡ Menu

ICC Cricket Hall of Fame – List

The International Cricket Council has announced the formation of the Cricket Hall of Fame as part of the its centenary year celebrations.

New players will be added each year, announced at the annual ICC Awards.

ICC Cricket Hall of Fame inductees: (55):

Sydney Barnes (England), Bishan Bedi (India), Alec Bedser (England), Richie Benaud, Allan Border (both Australia), Ian Botham, Geoffrey Boycott (both England), Donald Bradman, Greg Chappell, Ian Chappell (all Australia), Denis Compton, Colin Cowdrey (both England), Kapil Dev, Sunil Gavaskar (both India), Lance Gibbs (West Indies), Graham Gooch, David Gower, WG Grace, Tom Graveney (all England), Gordon Greenidge (West Indies), Richard Hadlee (New Zealand), Walter Hammond (England), Neil Harvey (Australia), George Headley (West Indies), Jack Hobbs (England), Michael Holding (West Indies), Leonard Hutton (England), Rohan Kanhai (West Indies), Imran Khan (Pakistan), Alan Knott, Jim Laker, Harold Larwood (all England), Dennis Lillee, Ray Lindwall (both Australia), Clive Lloyd (West Indies), Hanif Mohammad (Pakistan), Rodney Marsh (Australia), Malcolm Marshall (West Indies), Peter May (England), Javed Miandad (Pakistan), Keith Miller, Bill O?Reilly (both Australia), Graeme Pollock (South Africa), Wilfred Rhodes (England), Barry Richards (South Africa), Vivian Richards, Andy Roberts, Garfield Sobers (all West Indies), Brian Statham, Fred Trueman, Derek Underwood (all England), Clyde Walcott, Everton Weekes (both West Indies), Frank Woolley (England), Frank Worrell (West Indies).

{ 7 comments… add one }
  • Arif Rahman April 4, 2009, 1:23 am

    All are fine but omission of players like Zaheer Abbas, Vinoo Mankad, Wesley Hall, Joel Garner, BS Chandrashekhar, Jeff Thomson, Wasim Akram is painful, especially when players like David Gower and Graham Gooch could find a place there.

  • Tony Greg April 4, 2009, 1:39 am

    The exclusion of Wasim Akram, Aravinda De Silva, Wes Hall, and Brian Lara does not make much sense. Unless ICC plans to expand this list in near future and yet keep the number low, the list would generate lots of controversy and disappointment. One wonders what is the criterion of establishing such a list?

  • sadaf April 4, 2009, 5:33 am

    yeah, the Icc should expand the list, bcz Wasim Akram, Inzamam, Waqar should also be on the list vespically Wasim akram i can not believe that how can ICC not have Wasim akram in hall of fame. sunil gavaskar shouldn’t even be on the list, so funny

  • Nishantha Herath April 6, 2009, 2:44 pm

    As usual the ICC has got it wrong . I just dont understand how the likes of Rodney Marsh , Ian Chappell and Bishan Bedi got in ahead of Wasim Akram , Aravinda De Silva and Brian Lara . I hope they have a proper criteria like in tennis where the players who are inducted to the hall of fame have to be retired for 5 years or more to make the cut . Hope justice is done to the above named players , not in the list and others of their ilk .

  • Sanny December 7, 2009, 8:25 pm

    The hall of fame is basically for those who finished playing the game a long time ago. Most of the players listed in the comments above have retired recently compared to the ones named in the list. Time is yet to come for them.
    DOES SOMEONE REMEMBER COURTNEY WALSH – he was once the highest wicket taker in test cricket…guys..

  • apac December 17, 2009, 8:49 pm

    I can think of at least 20 players who should be inducted ahead of Gower and Gooch both of who were only slightly better than average.Boycott – average and boring.Mike Procter???

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.