≡ Menu

Dasavatharam Movie Review

dasavatharam_movie_review1.jpg

Dasavatharam Movie Review

Actor: Kamal Hassan
Actress: Asin
Director : K.S. Ravikumar
Produced by : Oscar films

Review

Dasavathaaram movie is good — Movie is spectacular, a must watch movie.

Kamal Hassan?s magnum opus Dasavatharam ends up setting a new benchmark for Indian films. Tamil cinema has entered a new era with Dasavatharam. All in all, Dasavathaaram is an extraordinary movie by Kamal and his team ? A must watch movie.

All the credit goes to ? Kamal Haasan, K.S.Ravikumar and Ravi Varman.


Rediff Review : Dasavathaaram is spectacular
IndiaGlitz Review: Dasavatharam – Kamal’s perfect ten

  • Dasavatharam movie show timings in USA
  • Dasavatharam in 17 theatres in Chennai ? List of theaters


{ 37 comments… add one }
  • Arjun June 13, 2008, 3:25 pm

    The much anticipated movie Dasavatharam is out and not up to the mark. It is quite unsatisfying except first 10 minutes of movie.

    Story line is poor and the taking was pathetic. KS Ravikumar not at all justified the characters in the movie and he failed to use the resources he had. Universal hero Dr. Kamal Haasan is at his best. There is no comedy at all in the movie. There is no role for Mallika Sherawat except for an item song and average performance from Asin. However, the music and background was wondrous. Picturization of the songs is not at all in force. Overall, the movie was vicious except the makeup of Dr. Kamal Haasan in ten different getups.

    KS Ravikumar took 2? years to make this bummer.

  • Suresh June 13, 2008, 4:06 pm

    Excellent.. Excellent….

  • ramu June 13, 2008, 4:58 pm

    very good super hit

  • Navin June 13, 2008, 5:15 pm

    Average movie yaar. What a let down. What exactly does kamal want to convey. Except for 3 avatars, the rest are not at all justified. In fact it seems that these avatars are there only to add to the novelty of the film. Kamal hassan has once again proved that he is not really “oscar” worthy. He is only the best among a crop of mediocre actors. However the film was technically brilliant. The special effects were mind blowing. However it remains to be seen whether the film will recover its money.

  • Ela June 13, 2008, 7:55 pm

    Flop or Hit… all try to encourage the courage and confident the team behind this movie.. its not because of money factor alone. Basically, very few hard workers like Dr. Kamal, Manirathnam tries to give and take our cinema to greater heights. As in this review I find ppl comparing this movie with SHIVAJI where pure strategy of Dir. Shankar worked well with all the attributes. But the RISK involved is much higher in this movie as they tried to convey that an industry in asia which can think beyond its competing talent pool of ASIA. The main drawback is not with the movie, its with the SICK-MINDED thinking. I kindly request everybody not to do it henceforth. Try to encourage really risk taking team rather than simply going for nonsense entertainment. As media industry is one industry which never shrinks as its growth is huge and we let be a part of it to encourage.

  • Jegan June 13, 2008, 9:32 pm
  • sajankumar June 14, 2008, 12:09 pm

    ela well said,i do rely on your point,dnt curse blindly, think and appreciate the hard work,i too agry with other comments on story,but 1 thing if this movie made by any foreigner do all ppl will encourage or curse…y bcoz itz made by an hardwork indian, we indian cant tolerate n curseing n degrading the the talents..shame…to this mankind, im keenly watching all the review, i feel only the ppl were kamal belongs cursing him…shame on it,here in andra every1 enjoyg da movie,even kerala i heard this movie is rocking in 87 centres..result are better than tamilnadu,and the poor critics of tamilnadu…

  • Singer June 14, 2008, 7:35 pm

    the Song I would sing would be
    “Kamal lost his Mind””
    Kamal lost his Mind””
    Kamal lost his Mind””
    “Kamal lost his Mind”
    “Kamal lost his Mind”

  • KK June 14, 2008, 9:42 pm

    The worst movie ever of all the Kamal movies. He definitely lost his mind…

  • ww June 14, 2008, 10:11 pm

    kamal wants to prove a point that he could also give blockbuster for large audience. He took up ten characters to make it more grand. Then thought of the story and links i guess.

  • kumar June 15, 2008, 12:59 am

    Note: The below review is only on movie, nothing personal to any one.

    This movie is of great disappointment after such hype ( Not worth for such hype, just marketing stuff – bullshit bluff, liars )

    I was eagerly waiting to watch this movie for a long period and finally attended premiere show of this movie with great expectations. Kamal did fair job in all 10 roles and people can watch this movie to see kamal and tsunami graphics at end of movie.

    Regd Story – believe me, it is completely bullshit and ridiculously stupid. For the first 20 minutes, am wondering whats happening on screen and felt that there was no connection with previous frames( esp 12th century episode). Also playing with Lord Srinivasa idol like a ball, really hurts many feelings.

  • sanker June 15, 2008, 3:38 am

    Its very great movie. Kamal acting is superb. Particularly every one talking about story. He perfectly introduced all character in the story exact point with out missing line.

  • anonymous June 15, 2008, 10:00 pm

    This is a must watch movie. I am a great fan of superstar rajinikanth. I have been reluctant to watch a kamal movie (esp in theater) as I have always felt that his overacting might drive me crazy. But I saw this movie in a theater and my opinion changed completely. This is the best tamil movie taken so far and Kamal has done a great job in all his 10 roles. The concept in this movie is profound and needs one’s attention to comprehend. A must watch movie!! Dont miss it!

  • Sridhar June 16, 2008, 1:35 am

    Ok. Nothing new about Kamal’s acting. Everyone knows that he is a good actor – offcourse better than any tamil actors now. But can he attract ‘common’ people like Superstar? No need to give an answer this. Another thing – Kamal thinks too much of himself – very very bad – common man does not like that. We want a down-to earth, humble HUMAN being like Superstar. So, Even though Kamal has acted so well in hte movie – it is just a waste of his time and energy!!!

  • Shanthy June 16, 2008, 1:43 am

    A big flop. A big hit for the producer. He was trying to bad-mouth Rajini. He is facing even further for this since the movie is so bad and all Rajini Fans (i.e that is people from 4-80 years of age) and other will ignore this movie further. Why spend so much money on unneeded movies like this. If Kamal wants to show his acting supremacy, act in art movies. Not in commercial movies. A big flop and the P/E ratio is a very big number – which is negative unfortunately.

  • Gh June 16, 2008, 1:46 am

    People with no back bones: also try to publish a review that says the truth about this nonsensical movie – you will be in the box-office – idiots.

  • sri June 16, 2008, 9:06 am

    I saw the movie in woodlands.THe movies is average and kamal come in different makeups thats all.In sivaji rajini did mottai boss character which is better than kamal.No doubt.Kaml is not a good actor hes an average actor. Kamal cannot compete with grat actors like raghuvaran,karthik,Vikram

  • Big Sri June 16, 2008, 12:13 pm

    What is the name of the movie? Dasavatharam (meaning 10 roles). All the 10 roles are done extremely well. It is a novelty and only kamal can even think of doing it. Story is not bad. For those who are asking for “message and moral of the story” go to your childhood stories and read them. You will find plenty of them in there.

  • sam June 16, 2008, 1:50 pm

    worst movie i ever seen, first 10 min is excellent after that zero ,dont waste your money and time.

  • Syed -Andhra Pradesh June 16, 2008, 5:24 pm

    Hi,
    I have seen the movie on the second day with much expectations from kamal hasan….but atlast I was wondering why did he made this movie??. Truly speaking you can watch this movie only to count the number of avatars and the psunami scene in the climax..thats all.

    There are some unnecessary avatars!!!..there is no link to each of them and the story.. the music is medicore. It will become a big flop.. I dont understand why the big hype is goingon…and people are comparing this with sivaji…

    10Avatars = 10 days movie!!.

    Iam sure that Kamal will go through the phase which Rajini has been to with ‘Baba’ Movie. Iam sorry Kamal fans…I just presented the truth hope everyone will accept.

  • HH June 17, 2008, 12:24 am

    If someone says Dasavataram is a good movie he is telling a big lie.
    Kamal disappointed everyone with his desire to do many characters in a single movie and prove that he is a great versatile actor (we know he is a good actor he doesn’t have to prove it like this !!).
    It is a utter waste of time, effort and all that money for his obsession to prove he is versatile.
    I feel he has a great liking to do lots of makeup and portray himself in unnecessary nonsensical characters.
    Movie has a rich vibrant start but it fades away with each passing minute. The unnecessary characters in the movie are – Japanese guy, Tall guy, Granny(trying to show her balancing skills walking on people) and heroine should have had a plaster on her mouth as she drove us mad literally at one point with her chatter and total nonsense dialogues.
    What is missing in the movie :
    ->Links between events happening with no connection to the previous scene
    -> Sensible direction
    -> Clarity of thought in the directors mind on what he is doing and where he is taking the movie.

    I believe what KAMAL had in mind when he started the movie was:
    -> I will play 10 Characters whatsoever, even though they do no good to the movie
    -> Movie will start from Ancient times and end with a Tsunami
    -> Movie will have a mention of all RELIGIONS, and bring communal aspects, will include people from different countries in his characters.

    *****Waiting for the next sensible Kamal movie…till then God save Dasavataram viewers….*****

  • ilan June 17, 2008, 1:44 am

    wow what a great movie… kamal only you can do this kind of movie… i read lots of comment… yea what a stupid they are… what they know about einstein theory… relativity… (saarbial koodpaadu)… even did they know about einstein…(man of the millenium)… you are really great… only u can bring the indian filem industry to the next level…

  • Sridhar June 17, 2008, 6:18 pm

    very nice movie…. each and every frame shows kamal’s effort. For all those who have written some bad critics about the movie…. u are only worth to watch the movies of those who speak punch dialogues for 15 mins continously and then fights and then duets with heroine and then fights again…… please stop writing bad critics…. No body has taken such a risk in the industry. We have to appreciate his effort. Really a good movie to nominate for Oscar. Winning or losing is not important… but i’m sure the first Tamil movie to be nominated for oscar is this movie.u have to accept that….

  • Raviram_c June 17, 2008, 8:52 pm

    Too much Hyped. Not upto expecations. Though i realise that people see different aspects of same movie( good photography)personally i feel
    that story is too fragmented and some how tried to make up in the end. I would not dare to see combination of K.S Ravi kumar and K. Hasan in near future. Sorry guys but you could have done much better.

  • kumar June 18, 2008, 1:56 am

    I just saw the movie & Iam very proud of it being shot by Indians.It has a very different storyline based on chaos theory & butterfly effect.I think people who hatred this movie doesn’t understand the concept.All the 8 charecters other than hero&villain are beautifully linked through chaos theory.The 12th century&Tsunami is based on Butterfly effect.Just have a look on http://www.en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Butterfly_effect.This is not an ordinary tamil film having romance,action or revenge.

  • sudhakar June 18, 2008, 11:03 am

    excellent..
    kamal is kalai ulagin avatharam…
    we cannot simply praise by words.

  • Anu Venkat June 18, 2008, 6:43 pm

    The movie The Butterfly Effect (which opened in 2004) may not include any nefarious insects, but it is based in part on a concept from chaos theory that suggests that something as subtle as the flap of a butterfly’s wings in Brazil could trigger a tornado in USA.

    The term “butterfly effect” was coined by meteorologist Edward Lorenz, who discovered in the 1960’s that tiny, butterfly?scale changes to the starting point of his computer weather models resulted in anything from sunny skies to violent storms?with no way to predict in advance what the outcome might be.

  • indian June 19, 2008, 10:01 am

    it will be a nice movie for those ppl who can appreciate the effort and the quality of it… it will be a flop, boring, bad story, n so on as bad as u can can review for those ppl who cannot accept the fact of the movie…..

    For me, the movie awesome, great and it is a big achievement in Indian cinema…. please do not compare this movie with any other INDIAN movies…. its like disgrace the movie, the dasavatharam team, and thier effort…. the worst part, ppl comparing this movie with SIVAJI.. can any1 tell me anything new in Sivaji at least 1??? i can tell u more than 1 from dasavatharam….. so please… its not about the actors.. its bout the quality of the outcomez…

    am not from India… When my friend(non-indian) was watchin Sivaji, he keeps on laughin because he said most of the parts in the movie “lame” …. which is so true even for us (tamilanz) but wut 2 do, the star always hide the LAMENESS of the movie…. try to think by urself…. how u will feel when sum1 else laughin at OUR movie…. do you want that to continue….?

    well.. cum to the point…
    Dasavatharam is superb movie and as we all can see Kamal shows his best.. every part of the movie is sumtin new for me and made the movie different from any other movies in term of technologies, story, perfection, acting talent and so on…

    so… it does not matter that d movie can break the box office record or not… its not an issue actually…. just hope that indian cinema will learn alot from this movie and can do more better than this in future…..

    lastly…. watch the movie and u will know more about life because the movie implies a strong message to the human… but the message will be hidden for ppl who realy do not have any sense in thier life…

    stop arguing and givin negative feedback…

    Get a life…..

  • KALPESH June 20, 2008, 12:41 pm

    Who the hell said there is no humor in the movie… what about the character of BALRAM NAIDU the Telugu character, what about the OLD LADY character. U Guys if u cannot understand a movie… Never ever discourage it.

  • KALPESH June 20, 2008, 12:46 pm

    A Subject which never said by any director in INDIAN Cinema…U have to appreciate KAMAL as well as all the CREW for that… Let the critics say whatever they can…. It is the critics which will make the movie a great hit… KAMAL he is the ILLUSIONIST…. waiting for his next venture MARMAYOGI

  • Gayathri June 25, 2008, 10:44 am

    Bad movie.

    Those who praised the movie on this website couldn’t even type a decent paragraph so I guess one shouldn’t take their word for it.

    Hunting a ‘terrorist’ with a pistol from a hovering helicopter? Come on man.

    The first 10 minutes of the movie was excellent. And after that….bad bad bad.

    Kudos on the accents and acting by Kamal. That said, people expect that from him so he shouldn’t deliver anything less.

    Asin was beyond annoying with her screechy voice and nonsensical blabber.

    Graphics were average at best. The police investigations were lame. People who don’t see whats wrong with that clearly have not watched a decent Hollywood movie about the CIA.

    Don’t emulate Hollywood if you can’t. Stick to epic movies, drama, family, comedy and the like. Big military operations and police interrogations etc are a pain to watch due to the lack of attention to detail and basic common sense.

    It is hard to accept such terrible standards by an actor who gave us Nayagan and Thevar Magan.

  • Meena June 25, 2008, 6:55 pm

    Gayathri,
    You belong to “Kuthu Pattu” category like Vijay. Please keep out of Kamal.

    Meena —

  • Anon June 27, 2008, 10:09 am

    Total Crap.

  • aishwarya June 28, 2008, 9:13 pm

    Yea i have to agree with kumar that the movie was a great disappointment after the immense publicity. I was really looking forward to the movie and when i did, i was at complete blur.I liked the movie at a certain extent but it did not live up to my expectation.I mean it would have been good if the chaos and butterfly effect was more prominent in the movie.I would say that the producers failed to convey their message to the viewers. I had to google up the movie and find out the message for myself and a good movie would never had me to do that.

  • Name July 2, 2008, 7:18 pm

    “It is not Dasavatharam. It is “DASAPARADHAM”.

  • Suresh July 7, 2008, 4:04 pm

    Dasavatharam has taken Indian cinema to the next level. Perhaps Kamal is so obsessed with raising the bar all the time. Great to be his contemporary.

Leave a Comment